In Colorado, theft is defined by CRS 18-4-401. It is when somebody knowingly obtains something of value from another person with the intent to deprive that person permanently of the property. These charges can include theft by threats, deception, fraud, or simply not returning borrowed or rented property. The most common forms of theft are charged as follows:

That the defendant

  1. In the state of Colorado at or about the date place and time charged
  2. Knowingly
  3. Obtained, retained, or exercised control over anything of value of another,
  4. Without authorization or by threat or deception, and
  5. Intended to deprive the other person permanently of the use or benefit of that thing. Or

That the defendant

  1. In the state of Colorado at or about the date place and time charged
  2. Knowingly,
  3. Received, loaned money by pawn or pledge on, or disposed of
  4. Anything of value or belonging to another that he knew or believed to have been stolen, and
  5. Intended to deprive the other person permanently of the use or benefit of the thing of value.

Generally speaking, the law criminalizes taking, using, keeping, selling, or hiding somebody else’s property without their permission if you intend to permanently deprive them of their property.

Contact a Colorado criminal defense lawyer representing clients in Denver, CO today to schedule your initial consultation.

In Colorado, the most commonly charged theft crimes include aggravated motor vehicle theft, burglary, fare evasion, fuel piracy, property crimes, shoplifting, theft, theft of rental property, theft of trade secrets, theft by receiving, and some white-collar and fraud crimes.

The penalties for a theft crime in Colorado vary drastically depending upon the value of the theft. Most commonly the consequences involve community service, fines, incarceration, probation, and restitution in varying degrees based upon the value of the theft. Theft can be anything from a class 1 petty offense punishable by not more than 6 months in jail up to a class 2 felony punishable by 24 years in prison and a fine of up to $1,000,000.

If you would like to schedule an initial consultation, contact a Colorado criminal defense attorney, we represent clients in Denver, Colorado, and the surrounding area. The Savela Law Firm, P.C. Give us a call at (303) 856-5700 or complete our inquiry form.

If you have been charged with burglary an experienced Denver DUI attorney is essential. Get in touch with experienced Denver burglary defense attorneys Jason Savela and Ryan Dawson by filling out our online contact form or by calling (303) 856-5700.