False Imprisonment is a serious criminal charge. If you are facing charges of False Imprisonment you should consult with a Denver criminal defense attorney immediately.
Contact a Colorado criminal defense lawyer representing clients in Boulder, CO today to schedule your initial consultation.
C.R.S. section 18-3-205 defines vehicular Assault. It provides:
- Any person who knowingly confines or detains another without the other's consent and without proper legal authority commits false imprisonment. This section does not apply to a peace officer acting in good faith within the scope of his or her duties.
- False imprisonment is a class 2 misdemeanor; except that false imprisonment is a class 5 felony if:
- The person uses force or threat of force to confine or detain the other person; and
- The person confines or detains the other person for twelve hours or longer; or
- The person confines or detains another person less than eighteen years of age in a locked or barricaded room under circumstances that cause bodily injury or serious emotional distress; and
- Such confinement or detention was part of a continued pattern of cruel punishment or unreasonable isolation or confinement of the child; or
- The person confines or detains another person less than eighteen years of age by means of tying, caging, chaining, or otherwise using similar physical restraints to restrict that person's freedom of movement under circumstances that cause bodily injury or serious emotional distress.
- Notwithstanding section 13-90-107or any other provision of law, the statutory privilege between a patient and a physician or between an individual and his or her spouse is not available for the purpose of excluding or refusing testimony in any prosecution for a violation of this section where the conditions described in subsection (2)(b) or (2)(c) of this section are alleged.
- Nothing in this section limits the ability of a person to assert the affirmative defense described in section 18-1-703.
False imprisonment is either a class 2 misdemeanor or a class 5 felony. As a class 2 misdemeanor, it is punishable by 3 to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
If you would like to schedule an initial consultation, contact a Colorado criminal defense attorney, we represent clients in Boulder, Colorado, and the surrounding area. The Savela Law Firm, P.C. Give us a call at (720) 821-1001 or complete our inquiry form.
However, false imprisonment becomes a class 5 felony if force or threat are used to confine the person and the victim is confined for 12 hours or longer. As a class 5 felony, it is punishable by 1 to 3 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.
If you have been charged with false imprisonment an experienced Denver criminal defense lawyer is essential. Get in touch with experienced Denver false imprisonment defense attorney Jason Savela by calling (720) 821-1001.