Arson involves burning property illegally. Colorado law has four different versions of criminal arson depending upon the type of property burned, how it is burned, and whether people are put in danger by the burning.
Contact a Colorado criminal defense lawyer representing clients in Boulder, CO today to schedule your initial consultation.
First Degree Arson
First-degree arson is defined by CRS 18-4-102(1). A prosecutor can charge first-degree arson when they have probable cause to believe that a person has knowingly burned another person’s building without permission, and that structure is occupied. The legislature defines first-degree arson as when a person:
- set fire to, burned, caused to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damaged or destroyed, or caused to be damaged or destroyed,
- any building or occupied structure,
- of another,
- without that person’s consent.
First-degree arson is a class 3 felony with the possibility of up to 12 years in prison and fines of up to $750,000.
If you would like to schedule an initial consultation, contact a Colorado criminal defense attorney, we represent clients in Boulder, Colorado, and the surrounding area. The Savela Law Firm, P.C. Give us a call at (303) 856-5700 or complete our inquiry form.
Although each case is different, there are several defenses to arson charges including alibi, defense, mistaken identity, general denial, elemental defenses, and others. Many of these defenses can be used to get charges dropped or dismissed or a not guilty verdict at trial.
If you have been charged with arson an experienced Denver arson attorney is essential. Get in touch with experienced Denver arson defense attorneys Jason Savela and Ryan Dawson by filling out our online contact form or by calling (303) 856-5700.